panama politics

Trouble in Little Heathrow

Phew – what a troublesome last 36hrs!

I’ll set the scene. Imagine that you are sitting in the flat of a friend at far too late an hour double checking your flight details. Reassuringly its all in place and as you booked it. But wait… what’s that? The WRONG Panama City you say? An entirely different country? Naturally you may feel stymied at this point having forked out a fairly hefty whack of money for the pleasure of popping ear drums and food on a tray. This was the situation that I found myself in at 1am on Monday night. Only one thing for it – hightail it to the airport and sort it out.

Having arrived at the airport I set to finding the Delta airlines desk and resolving it with them. Apparently Expedia had booked the flight wrong  which is something that ‘happens a lot with these third party bookers’. Not reassured and beginning to sweat a lot for a man in an airconditioned airport, I booked another flight at my own expense – placing Expedia on the hit list as I finished it. The rebooked flights unfortunately meant that I was going to have a 24 layover in Atlanta, Georgia – not getting in a dig at the wonderful state of Georgia (home of the world’s largest Aquarium!) but a little off the planned itinerary.

Still, with my flight out of Heathrow delayed by 3hrs at least I had time to simmer down.

Fortunately that was the low point of the trip and I reckon things can only get better once I arrive in PC. I can also say that black eyed peas and Catfish is incredible, not to mention the pancakes included in the breakfast at my hotel outside the airport (exotic!). Also American customer service is incredible – I feel like some sort of blundering ingrate compared to how polite these people are.

On to the next leg in a few hours! Wish me luck.

4 thoughts on “Trouble in Little Heathrow

  1. Darling Boy – you seem to be having fun despite the difficulties BUT now I’m really worried about your finances! Glory be! Let me know further details before I go out of my tint Motherly mind.

    Presume you are now in the country of choice?

  2. Darling Boy – you seem to be having fun despite the difficulties BUT now I’m really worried about your finances! Glory be! Let me know further details before I go out of my tiny Motherly mind.

    Presume you are now in the country of choice?

Leave a Reply

